How to grow a garden: Introduction to my Learning Project

For my EDTC 300 learning project, I chose to learn how to grow garden vegetables in small planter boxes. I have watched my mother, grandmother, and grandfather plant gardens in the past and I always thought there was something magical about how seeds are put into the ground and eventually turn into large plants that provide vegetables to eat. As part of my learning journey, I will have the advice from my mother, grandmother, and grandfather because they are pros at this and have many years of experience! My baseline for this project is the beginner stages. The most experience/time I have spent in a garden is doing a little watering of plants and picking some fruits and vegetables from the garden. Needless to say, this will be a learning journey. 

My plan for this learning project is to first do some research about how to plant a garden from seeds, buy the supplies needed to plant my mini garden (supplies below), plant the mini garden, and begin to care for the garden and document the growing process through blogging.

I began my journey by first conducting some research about planting gardens from seeds. I found this YouTube video, which I found easy to follow and provided some great tips for beginners!

I then chose to plant vegetables that take the least amount of time to grow. My mother suggested radishes and lettuce. I then went shopping at Canadian Tire to buy some gardening supplies. My list included: 

  1. 2 Decomposable garden boxes (1 for each vegetable)
  2. 2 plastic containers for water drainage to set underneath the garden boxes 
  3. 1 package of lettuce seeds 
  4. 1 package of radish seeds 
  5. Plant food
  6. *My mom had dirt at home she let me use- it is miracle grow dirt for garden vegetables

My goals for this week:

>Prepare garden boxes with dirt and fertilizer

>Plant lettuce and radishes in garden boxes

>Water the gardens daily

Leave a Reply